Library of Progress

Time Tracking, Day 1 | January 12, 2016

Here’s what I logged for Monday. This is a fairly typical workday except that David wasn’t home in the evening, so dinner and bedtime routines were shorter than they usually are.

I woke at 6:30 when my phone alarm went off, but lingered in bed checking email and various internet haunts until 7, when I got in the shower. C woke up somewhere in the middle of my getting-ready routine but was unusually content to continue hanging out and playing in her crib for awhile. I did my makeup and hair, got dressed, and packed up our stuff mixed with getting her ready in bits and pieces.

We left the house at 8:15, which involved a spell of warming and scraping the car. I departed C’s daycare by 8:35 and walked into my workplace at 8:45. I’m not tracking the specifics of what I do at my job all day beyond “work”; right now it’s much too fragmented to be able to track easily but I’m still accomplishing everything I need to. If I care about optimizing that process (which I really don’t, at least not right now), that’ll be a project for another week.

David picked C up around 4 on his way home and fixed them each dinner. I left work at 5:10 but didn’t get home until close to 5:45 as it was snowing heavily and traffic was slow moving. I made myself a grilled cheese and hung out with the fam until David left for a meeting around 6:30. Bedtime routine and book time started at 7:30 (much abbreviated since I prefer to be closing her bedroom door at this time) and she was in bed by 7:45.

I spent 30 minutes picking up the house, including cleaning the kitchen and folding a load of laundry, and then it was me time. From 8:30 until 11:30, I spent some time catching up on the first day of the Hibernate course, including the blog and FB community, I put up a blog post of my own, and I did some pleasure reading. In the middle of that, David came home so there were a few 15-minute blocks of helping him bring in groceries and just chatting. I turned out the lights around 11:45 (way too late) and slept badly for a few reasons.

Some observations:

  • I suspect I spend an absolute eternity getting ready in the morning compared to most people. I doubt this will ever change.
  • No exercise. I could have done something at home after baby bedtime but I wouldn’t have. I’ve never figured out an in-home exercise that feels good enough to do regularly (or at all).
  • My optimal lights-out time is probably actually 9:30 – 10 (this is my first “window” during which it’s far easier for me to fall asleep but I often ignore it) but I really wanted to get my personal stuff done last night.
  • Not too much in the way of wasted time! At least not what *I* consider wasted time.

 

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

