Library of Progress

Time Tracking: Uh… | January 18, 2016

Well, I kind of petered out there near the end and ended up not physically logging days 5, 6, and 7. But here’s a snapshot of how I spent those three days.

I woke up on Friday morning feeling like crap. Weak, achy, my sinuses hurt, lots of post-nasal drip, lots of coughing, raw (but not sore) throat. But nor did it feel precisely like a cold, flu, or sinus infection. Your standard winter crud? I feel like it’s been waxing and waning since November. I had told David I wanted to attempt a morning workout at the gym to see if that would be feasible over the long-term, but given the way I was feeling, that was a nonstarter. I got C ready and sent her off with David and then showered and went to work and picked up my computer and came back home. I worked all day but was able to toss in some laundry here and there, and baked a double batch of banana bread at lunchtime. David was home with C around 4:30. We chatted for a bit. He wasn’t feeling well, so he went upstairs for a nap and I hung out with C, gave her dinner, ate my own dinner, and got her ready for bed. I’m not 100% sure what I did with the evening, but it involved some puttering, some blog reading, and some book reading.

Saturday I woke up feeling better physically but really crappy mentally. It was even colder this weekend than it was LAST weekend — with “feels like” temperatures as low as -35 degrees — and I was fed up as hell with the cold. For all the waxing poetic I did last weekend, being forced to hibernate instead of it being a choice gave the experience a definite shift from “cozy” to “claustrophobic.” I felt chilled to the bone, extremely dried out and dehydrated in every way, and just plain DONE with winter. We killed some time in the morning drinking coffee and watching a TLC show called The Lottery Changed My Life sort of interesting in the wake of the $1.6 billion Powerball — and then we pulled ourselves together and went out anyway. We visited a train store near our house that has tons of train tables for kids to play with, and to one of our favorite delis for lunch. When we got home, I tried to nap while C did, but I couldn’t sleep, so that irritated me further. I gave C a bath, we heated up enchiladas for dinner, and once C was in bed, I went to a friend’s house for movie night. I was home and in bed by 12:30 but couldn’t fall asleep until almost 3. Story of my life this week, apparently. I read my Kindle in the dark until I finally drifted off.

Sunday was better. We didn’t do much, but I felt less hostile about it than I had the day before. David made us breakfast of oven-cooked bacon and “fancy” eggs scrambled with cream cheese and chives, and gave me my pick of time slots for the gym. I opted to go first, and walked for an hour on the indoor track while listening to my audiobook. That was nice. I came home and had lunch and put C down for a nap (which was short and extremely restless), then showered and watched a movie while David took his turn at the gym. We scrounged leftovers for dinner and just hung out and relaxed in the late afternoon and evening. C had a slight fever yesterday so she went down easily at 7:30 after her non-nap earlier in the day. Around 8:45 I cleaned up the kitchen, took care of some household stuff like changing our bedding, and got in bed to read until lights-out at 11:30.

And…scene!

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

